The First World War began when Britain and Germany went to war in August 1914, and Prime Minister Andrew Fisher's government pledged full support for Britain. The outbreak of war was greeted in Australia, as in many other places, with great enthusiasm.
Last Updated: May 26, 2014
World War One
For books browse the Resource Centre Catalogue under the following subject headings:
World War, 1914-1918
World War, 1914-1918 - Australia
Australia - History - 1914-1918
Browse the shelves at:
940.3 - World War One
994.04 - Australia and World War One
994.042 - The Homefront in Australia
The First World War began in August 1914. It was directly triggered by the assassination of the Austrian archduke, Franz Ferdinand and his wife, on 28th June 1914 by Bosnian revolutionary, Gavrilo Princip.
This event was, however, simply the trigger that set off declarations of war. The actual causes of the war are more complicated and are still debated by historians today.
Visit this Website on World War One to explore the deeper causes behind this major war that changed the course of the Twentieth Century.
The First World War
Call Number: 940.3 GRA
Publication Date: 2000
This book is part of the How did it Happen? Series. It offers a clear, comprehensive insight into the First World War.
World War 1: Research It
Call Number: 940.3 ROS
Publication Date: 2010
A great book to help you understand how to approach your study of World War 1. Includes timelines, facts, oral evidence, primary sources and images.
Assassination in Sarajevo: the trigger for World War 1.
Call Number: 940.3 ROS
Publication Date: 2006
Did one assassination lead to World War? How did World War 1 change the map of Europe? Explore these questions that surround the start of The Great War.
The Modern World History Online Database is a must use resource for this subject. You will find Biographies, Events, Primary Sources, Images, Videos, Maps and Charts.
- World War 1 - BBC Site
This BBC site has a wealth of information about the First World War. There is a wonderful array of materials, including actual footage, discussion papers, interactive maps and so forth. Good information about the Campaigns and Battles of World War One.
- First World War Index
Another extensive site, easy to navigate, and contains such helpful sub-sections as propaganda posters –from a range of combatant nations – and vintage photographs. Multi-media. Highly recommended.
- World War One - Fordham University
Contains many links to other sites under the headings: The Path to War; The War; Resistance to War; Literary Responses, and The Aftermath.
- World War One - Eyewitness History
Many useful links - "History through the eyes of those who lived it" .
- First World War - UK Archives
Very comprehensive site with information about batttles, military conflicts and also document packs about debatable issues.
- World War One and its Aftermath
NSW Online. Comprehensive coverage, including tutorials and links. Includes key historical figures, concepts, historigraphical issues and the World War 1 framework.
- BBC - Europe's Changing Borders
Click on the dates in the timeline to trace the shifts in Europe's political geography. Animated map.
- Propaganda Posters of The Great War
A slightly esoteric site, but interesting nevertheless in showing the ways each country continued the propaganda campaigns through other means.
- World War 1 - Document Archive
This archive of primary documents from World War One has been assembled by volunteers of the World War I Military History List. International in focus. This could be a little heavey going, but there is among other things, an extensive photograph collection.
- Encyclopedia of the First World War
Spartacus is one of the most amazing sites for History students on the Net. It’s not always easy to navigate, but the quality of the material is fantastic. It provides a series of history encyclopaedias. Entries usually include a narrative, illustrations and primary sources. The text within each entry is linked to other relevant pages in the encyclopaedia.
- Trenches on the web
Another blockbuster of a site, best approached by using the Special Selected Tours of this Website heading.
- Australian War Memorial
Huge site of The Australian War Memorial dedicated to Australians who fought and died in the many wars.
- The First World War Poetry Digital Archive
This site has over 7,000 items of text, images, audio and video for teaching, learning and research.